h1

Is this it?

March 11, 2007

 Mary

I’m an artist who is known best for my embroidered merit badges about female rites of passage. Over the past decade I’ve followed my urges to explore medieval imagery, beadwork, miniature theatres, and the arts and crafts movement. I’ve kept embroidering and sought to weave together the many strands I’ve got tangled up in, always seeking a way to blend contemporary and historical ideas.

Dave and I have had the enormous good fortune to spend a sabbatical year here in Oxford. What a great time to celebrate turning 50. Our adventures will certainly take up a large portion of my postings, as will my research into traditional English embroidery, illuminated manuscripts and William Morris.

“animary” is the name that has stuck and speaks to my single attempt at computer animation, as well as my constant effort to keep up with the creative tools of technology.

I do wish things would move along a little faster, but as usual the process of creating seems too slow.

Leave a Reply

